Why?

I recently ran across a post by a fellow blogger (you can read it here)where he asked the question, “Why do you write?”

Audience?

Audience? (Photo credit: orkomedix)

People always say that if you are in it for the money and fame, you should probably find another thing to occupy your time. I didn’t think I was, but honestly, I’d never really thought about it much. I just write, that’s all. Why do I need a reason?

But there is always a reason, isn’t there?

After thinking about it for all of ten seconds, the answer came to me. I wrote this:

“I write because I’ve always felt that no one listened to me, so I thought maybe they would read what I had to say instead.”

For you writers out there, why do you write? Do you know?

27 thoughts on “Why?

    • That’s interesting, and I agree. I wonder what it is that allows us to be so honest in writing, and why we learn so much about ourselves that is hidden otherwise?

  1. Honestly? I mean that rare, real kind of honesty we see so little of these days: I write because I think I’m good at it. I think that if I do this enough, one day people will pay me for it. It goes hand in hand with the sense of accomplishment that I think is the real reason so many people play video games (you complete a level and your sense of accomplishment is tickled).

    I wrote a bit as a kid and a teacher said it was good. I then wrote more and my friends said it was good.

    I want more of that. That’s why I write. I don’t think I have anything meaningful to say and I don’t need to vent or express my philosophies. I just want that pat on the back.

    • That would be my second reason, right up there with my first. Actually, that is the real reason behind my reason. I also want approval, and feeling like I accomplished something. Writing is one of the only ways I’ve ever found that feeling. ‘
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Daniel, I can totally relate, basics, you have to love what you do or please don’t complain about doing it. I have been so fortunate in my career and never had a bad experience, I just loved it, that’s all
    great write
    thanks

  3. For someone that has entered the craft late, I think I do it to entertain. I’ve always been an avid daydreamer. I can remember sitting in fourth grade sketching out pictures of R2D2 and C3PO and wondering what would happen if they were exiled to another planet. But I never wrote or recorded my daydreams, I just let them entertain me as a teacher went over multiplication tables, or computer language, or spanish. It was a way to escape the mundane.
    I don’t think I had a clue I had something interesting to share until middle school, and I had to write a critical essay on Romeo & Juliet. I decided to compare the play to the myth of Cupid & Psyche. The teacher called me to her desk and told me she’d never seen such a compelling argument/analysis of the two works from a 7th grader. And I think she was really surprised that it had come from me. The quiet girl. It was quite the pat on the back.
    I still hid my daydreams to myself, but I excelled at critical essays of literature. Because for the most part, everything I was forced to read in middle school and high school became real. Those characters lived way off the page for me, and taught me things about life I had never considered or thought about.
    I still write to entertain, but the characters and plots are a wee bit more complicated than R2D2 and C3PO. I love unraveling these people and their lives, and the intense examination I give to all of them. It’s very entertaining. 😉 But I hope they live and excite others as well. Maybe someday they will.

    • So do you mean you write mainly to entertain yourself, or others? Which is the larger percentage?
      That’s really amazing to me, because the thought never crossed my mind. Writing is more of a struggle for me. It’s me trying to make a good impression on someone else. I get satisfaction at the end, but am never satisfied enough with what I’ve written to enjoy it much. I think you are very lucky.

    • I guess I meant that on some deep, subconscious level. In this big world, it’s very hard to have your voice heard.
      Thanks for sharing your answer.

  4. Pingback: Answering Questions, and Asking One of You « Johann Thorsson

  5. Wowzer! Please believe me when I say that I posted my new story before I even read yours.

    Hahahaha!

    Hmm, well, I think I write because it’s the only way I can share my little truths that I’m too afraid to share to others (especially people who personally know me) for fear of rejection.

    And maybe also because it’s great fun! 😉

    • I find that no matter what you write – truth, lies, bread recipes – the people who personally know you will fall into one of two camps. The first camp – usually close family – will say you are wonderful, even if you aren’t. The second camp – acquaintances and friends, will often say you are not wonderful, even if you are. I don’t worry about rejection from friends and family. As a writer, I worry about rejection from complete strangers. 😉

  6. What a great question and you give a great answer too. We all want to be heard and even when we’re heard, we want there to be some meaning and importance to what we’re saying. By taking the time to write, craft, hone, and rewrite, we make sure that those things have earned the ears of listeners and readers.

    For me, I write because it’s the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do and the only thing that I know how to do well (or so I like to think). That’s a great thought on days when the writing goes swiftly and well; an awful thought on days when the well feels dry.

    And by the by, you’ve got a great site. Thanks for stopping by mine and cluing me into what you’re up to here.

    • Thanks, I really appreciate the feedback. It’s interesting how writers can really tune in to other writers, because of the shared experience. I think sometimes I might be more successful if I started a writer’s support group or something. A place where writers could feel “safe” to express the things the other people in their lives don’t understand. 🙂
      Looking forward to reading more from you.

  7. Hi, Daniel. That’s always a good question to ask of oneself. I enjoy the process of it a lot. Coming up with an idea and running with it and seeing where it will take you. It’s always challenging to do it well and to make it better. I accept the challenge, even though it can be difficult at times!

    • That’s probably my second answer: to see if I can do it again. I’m right in the middle of a story now that is getting so complex and has so many moving parts, that I really want to see if I can tie it all up in the end. It’s a challenge!

  8. Why write, you have asked. Well, why the hell not? But in truth, I started writing on a blog to record my world publicly, as a record for myself and others. And then, it seemed, there was years of writing and journal entries and thinking that had to be added, and then a small audience to entice me to keep going. It is my memory bank, and a window into my world and soul, that I choose to share. That some enjoy is such a wonderful bonus.

  9. Pingback: These Dark Feathers | Small Magic – Why We Read

  10. Pingback: Small Magic: Why We Read | Dear Velvet

Leave a Reply

