More Goodness Than Ever

High Fiber Cereal - now with TWIGS!!!

High Fiber Cereal – now with TWIGS!!! (Photo credit: Chasqui (Luis Tamayo))

Today I saw a television commercial for a well known brand of cereal (not the one in the picture. Think “candy in a box”). Their new campaign is also plastered over their cereal boxes. It states a fact that is meant to put us all at ease over the goodness of their product.

They say they use more multigrains than any other ingredient.

……    really?

It could be a microgram, it could be a 51-49% difference. The stuff could be slightly less than half poison, and slightly more than half corn husks and wheat germ. It doesn’t matter as long as the statement is “true.” And some marketing genius thought this would sell more cereal.

I’d like make a similar contention, in the hopes that I can, too, get people to believe anything I say. I promise that I’ve used more interesting words in my stories than uninteresting ones. I also promise that I have more correctly spelled words than misspelled ones.  I’ve also used more English words than from any other language.

Did it work?

4 thoughts on “More Goodness Than Ever

  1. Well..as bloggers, we’re all trying to market ourselves to our audiences in some way, shape, or form. I’m still reading, so I think it’s working. 🙂

Leave a Reply

